Joke: The Innkeeper’s Family Decision

For three years, the young attorney had been taking his brief vacations at this country inn.

image

The last time he’d finally managed an affair with the innkeeper’s daughter. Looking forward to an exciting few days, he dragged his suitcase up the stairs of the inn, then stopped short.

There sat his lover with an infant on her lap! “Helen, why didn’t you write when you learned you were pregnant?” he cried. “I would have rushed up here, we could have gotten married, and the baby would have my name!” “Well,” she said, “when my folks found out about my condition, we sat up all night talkin’ and talkin’ and decided it would be better to have a bastard in the family than a lawyer.”

4 Comments

    • Smiling..that was why I was careful with the title. My best buddies are lawyers and there are like family to me. Is just that the “American” thing has made lawyers look like sharks. Perhaps the innkeeper’s family has not had a nice encounter with lawyers. For me, the ‘lawyer’ in the story is interchangeable with the ” Nigerian police”. My skin crawls whenever I remember them…

      Like

      • It can be said for all “police”, to be honest, brutally honest, I am more scared of encountering a policemen on the street than someone who in our awfully judgemental eye can look like a dangerous person or a criminal.
        Same goes for lawyers, its not an “American” thing, sadly.
        And sadly even more, how cruel it is that it is precisley that violence that erases the meridians and turns us all void of nationality and into Us and Them.
        Anyways, I am darkening your joke, so to compensate, here is my favourite joke:
        Two muffins are sitting in an oven.
        One muffin says: Good grief, it’s hot in here!
        And the other muffin says:
        “Good grief, a talking muffin!” 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

